Whitney Wedding

Weddings are always a joy to photograph, but this one was especially meaningful to the family as well as to me. I met the bride while we were both working at the nursing home in my home town. After I left the nursing home and began working at the bank I met her grandpa, Jerry, and the rest of her family. They were an easy family to get to know and when Nichole asked me to take pictures for her wedding I didn’t hesitate to say YES!

Shortly after that, Nichole contacted me to tell me they had decided to move the wedding date up because her grandpa was diagnosed with advanced pancreatic cancer. Nichole and her grandpa were very close and she really wanted him to be there to celebrate with her on her big day. As the wedding got closer Jerry had good days and bad days, but he was always a fighter! Every time Jerry would come in to the bank, I’d ask him how he was doing, but no matter how he was feeling at the time he always had a smile on his face and a joke up his sleeve.

The day before the wedding was one of Jerry’s rough days. Nichole and her family were worried he wouldn’t make it to the wedding after all, but he pulled through and was there the next day, cowbell and all! It was a beautiful ceremony that brought tears to my eyes, but they didn’t let it stay that way for long! It was important to Nichole and Todd that everyone laugh and have a great time at their wedding. Between the step ladder for Nichole to kiss her groom, the cowbell grandpa rang at the pronouncement of their marriage, and the joke cracking wedding party, I alternated between giggles and tears throughout the entire day.

IMG_3324ed

I am very thankful to have been able to help this family celebrate Todd and Nichole’s wedding and to get some final family photos taken before Jerry passed away right around Christmas. He was truly a great man who I know is missed dearly by friends and family, but his kind heart and sense of humor were definitely passed on!

Todd and Nichole,

Thank you for allowing me to share in your special day. You are both wonderful people and I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know you and photographing the beginning to your story. I wish you both the best in life and all the happiness in the world.

Leave a Reply

